Life by the Drop

And Old Friend Waiting to be Played

And Old Friend Waiting to be Played

Hello there, my old friend

Not so long ago it was till the end

We played outside in the pouring rain

On our way up the road we started over again 

You’re living our dream oh you on top

my mind is aching,’ Lord it won’t stop

That’s how it happens living life by the drop

Stevie Ray Vaughn, “Life by the Drop”

 

I wasn’t prepared for all of today’s bonuses.  I gave myself until Sunday night to finish cleaning out my third bedroom, and actually had it finished before noon.  Now I have all my guitars, amps and unframed art work installed in that room in orderly fashion, with still plenty of room for walking about–no clutter now.  Suddenly I have a combination music room and gallery added to my dwelling.  And to top it all off, I received a phone call from a guitar buddy whom I hadn’t seen in a long time, ready to get back together and play guitars again.  We turned out to be on parallel planes, each not knowing of the other–both of us are clearing out an unused portion of our home to create more creative, livable space.  I can’t wait to see him.  He was the one who taught me to play the song posted above, one that still tugs at my heart every time I think of it.

Reid, thanks a million for the call.  You lifted spirits that were already soaring, Buddy!

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember. 

I journal when I feel alone. 

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

