Logic in the Shadows with Democritus Looking On

Studying Logic in the Shadows

Studying Logic in the Shadows

If we shadows have offended,

Think but this, and all is mended,

That you have but slumb’red here

While these visions did appear.

And this weak and idle theme,

No more yielding but a dream,

Gentles, do not reprehend.

If you pardon, we will mend.

William Shakespeare, A Midsummer Night’s Dream

A retrospective look over my four-and-a-half day summer semester break is yielding up a satisfied sentiment for me as this summer afternoon stretches into the quiet midsummer evening.  Five thirty-gallon heavy-duty garbage bags are cinched and waiting at my curb for their morning pick up.  They are the refuse yielded up from two previously neglected rooms that I cleaned thoroughly over the holiday and then refurnished with heart-felt delight.  Fifteen new files of weekly lesson plans are also tucked into my external hard drive for an online Logic class this fall at the university which I will conduct for the first time.  I endured plenty of hours of sweat throughout the days in a darkened study, learning these structures well enough to manipulate into lesson plans.  My sculpture bust of Democritus looked at me out from under my study lamp with a look of bemusement, probably wondering if I could pull it off.  My acoustic guitar has been emitting melodies I have not heard in a long, long time.  Sometimes I cannot believe my own fingers are coaxing these sounds from the strings.  This too floods my heart with eudaimonia.  Melville’s Moby Dick and Hawthorne’s “Rappaccini’s Daughter” have transplanted my heart to tender nineteenth-century American affections I have not felt in awhile.  And they paved the way for me to re-open my studies of British literary romanticism in preparation for the second summer term that opens early in the morning.  And what would a holiday be without painting?  A student of mine from decades past, now an artist himself, cared enough to mail photos to me of my grandmother’s house that he found in his portfolio, left over from high school days.  And so with gratitude I begin another watercolor of one of my most cherished memories, this time with an excellent model to follow.  Thank you, Ian!  

Commencement on a New Watercolor

Commencement on a New Watercolor

This vacation has been a precious gift for which I cannot offer enough praise.  I’m satisfied with what I was able to accomplish, and still get some needed rest.  I’m ready for tomorrow.  Hopefully, the students will be able to sense a renewed teacher when I enter their arena.

Thanks always for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

 

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Logic in the Shadows with Democritus Looking On”

  1. Xraypics Says:

    Best wishes for the new semester. Tony

    Like

  2. BJR Says:

    Ahh!…order feels so awesome, doesn’t it? I, too, with hubby’s help, got to a bit of “ordering” completed and also!…3/4’s of a drawing done!…which I hope to finish today. 😉 What a feeling!! Glad you had a nice vacation.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Great news from your end, too, congratulations! It feels good to do something creative. I’m tugging away at a watercolor this afternoon, trying to fight off sluggishness and drowsiness (the bane of my afternoons).

      Like

Leave a Reply

