Enjoying the Gentle Rain of a Darkening Evening

Still Working on the Latest Edition of Grandma McNeely's House

Still Working on the Latest Edition of Grandma McNeely’s House

Why is it that there is something melancholy in antiquity? . . . The heavens stood over the heads of our ancestors as near as to us.  Any living word in their books abolishes the difference of time.  It need only be considered from the present standpoint.

Henry David Thoreau, Journal, December 14, 1841.

I got a quick jump on this new sketch of my grandmother’s old house over the weekend before returning to school for the new summer semester today.  In short, it was an excellent first day, and I’m looking forward to returning in the morning for round two.  The afternoon has been exquisite with darkening skies followed by loud thunderclaps and hard, drenching rain.  It is still dark outside, and I found that dividing my time between chipping away at this watercolor and reading further into Moby Dick to be very soothing indeed.  I’m glad that I spent a good part of my vacation making my dwelling more liveable and therefore more pleasant.  It’s been a very comfortable afternoon and evening indoors.  

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Enjoying the Gentle Rain of a Darkening Evening”

  1. Deanna Tennent Masterson Says:

    I like the soft gentle colors, especially the green. A wonderful beginning of your painting! I’ve enjoyed your posts, but haven’t commented lately…I have no clue who Paul Tillich is….the letter from your student was very touching, though. It’s lovely to know you’re appreciated.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you ALWAYS for looking, and commenting. Paul Tillich was a philosopher/theologian that I include in my high school class philosophy curriculum. I’ve been quite taken with his ideas and biography for about 20 years now. It was affirming, not only to notice a student appreciating him, but putting me in his circle. And thanks for commenting on the watercolor. I’m not sure how this one will end, but I like most of what’s happened so far in playing with it.

      Like

  2. BJR Says:

    I, too, love the soft colors! What a treasure it’ll be to have a painting of your grandmother’s house; a part of happy memories. I look forward to seeing how it turns out! Wishing you happy painting hours on this one!

    I’ve almost completed a large drawing, pen and ink. Happiness!! The only thing lacking are the shadows in the old hankies folds, and it’s tatted edges. Ahh!…

    Like

Leave a Reply

