Working on the Fort Worth Scat Jazz Lounge Sign

Saturday Work on the Jazz Watercolor

Saturday Work on the Jazz Watercolor

Wallace Stevens is America’s great poet of the endles cycles of desire and despair.

PBS, Voices and Visions, “Wallace Stevens: Man Made Out of Words”

I could never have planned a better Saturday.  The light is bright coming through my studio windows, and I’m finding it a pleasant challenge distnguishing cool yellow light bulbs from the warm yellow sign from which they protrude.  This is calling for quite a bit of experimenting and study in color theory, but I love the exploration.  When I’m learning something new, I am inspired as an artist.

On days like today, I find it difficult, deciding between painting and reading.  Wallace Stevens and his poetry have been burning on my mind since the awakening hour this morning.  Fortunately, PBS has posted their Voices and Visions series on the Internet, and I have been thrilled listening to the readings of Stevens’s poetry during this sixty-minute documentary.  I played it through completely, twice, as I bent over this watercolor and made decisions.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

 

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Working on the Fort Worth Scat Jazz Lounge Sign”

  1. Xraypics Says:

    This has come along really well. I sometimes read your philosophical essays with interest and slight bemusement, how I wish I could sit in on your lessons and learn to philosphise. Today’s post put me in mind of something from TH White: Once and Future King: “The best thing for being sad,” replied Merlyn, beginning to puff and blow, “is to learn something. That is the only thing that never fails. You may grow old and trembling in your anatomies, you may lie awake in the middle of the night listening to the disorder of your veins, you may miss your only love, you may see the world around you devastated by evil lunatics, or know your honour trampled in the sewers of baser minds. There is only one thing for it then — to learn. Learn why the world wags and what wags it. That is the only thing the mind can never exhaust, never alienate, never be tortured by, never fear or distrust, and never dream of regretting”. It’s something to live by. Tony

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Wow, what a philosophy! I went away for a couple of weeks and basically turned off my blog (didn’t want to advertise my vacant house!). I am just now reading this and am profoundly stirred by it. One thing that cannot be taken from us–knowledge. No one can control that or shut it off, and I’m grateful everyday for that gift that is just as natural as growing.

      I hope retirement is treating you very well. It is your time now to do what matters most, and I would love to know how you are. At the time of this writing, my college has already started, and my high school is demanding all these meeting times (students will show up next Monday). No rest for the weary . . .

      Like

  2. Xraypics Says:

    Thanks David, you were missed. That passage struck me when I was a youngster and has stuck. Although retired from formal work, it seems that other things multiply to fill the space. Keep the hand in with some private radiology, having been in public employment my entire career, the philosophy of the private clinic somewhat different, not all bad. Trying to build from scratch and learn to operate an old-fashioned puppet show (Punch and Judy – with all the angst that comes with those two twisted characters) exploring the art and craft that goes with it. I finish the booth tomorrow and start to paint the proscenium soon. And spending more time with grand-children. Still playing with my art which just won’t allow me to leave it alone for long. Hopefully I’ve still something to say. We’re off to India next month to lecture and of course tour a bit, should be fun. Cheers, Best of luck on Monday. Tony

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Wow! Enjoy India and please keep me posted. I would love to see photos of the Punch & Judy set if you would like to post. And I’m glad you’re staying with your art as well. Two schools starting up at the same time have me running in circles, but I’ll settle soon, I’m confident, and get the painting back on track. Always a pleasure to hear what you’re doing. Thanks again for the wonderful philosophical insights.

      Like

Leave a Reply

