Tweaking the Balloon Sketch

It was time to “flesh out” the right-hand portion of this sketch.  I began watercolor sketching the trees adjacent to the Plano Balloon Fest site, but did not get a chance to finish before the balloons began to launch.  Once the balloons lifted, the trees had become silhouettes in the western sky and I decided to call it quits for the evening.

Today after school, I took out my supplies and worked on the right side, signed the piece, and declared it “finished.”  I’m glad to have a record of that memorable evening last Saturday.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself I am not alone.image

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Tweaking the Balloon Sketch”

  1. Bertha Says:

    It is so good to see your work on a regular basis. Love those balloons. I am taking a trip tomorrow to the Eastern Sierras (CA), and I will meet with my friend Joan, where we already have scheduled a watercolor class. Hopefully it will give me the so much needed “push” to start painting again, so it will be a couple of weeks of painting and drawing and sketching… Let’s see what happens. Bertha.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      I would be so excited to see your work from this excursion. Please keep me posted. I wish I could watercolor this weekend, but I have an art festival that will last three days. I guess I’ll have to wait till next week to paint again. Thank you so much for your encouragement. I will vicariously enjoy what you are about to pursue.

      Like

Leave a Reply

