Historical Musings at an Art Festival

image

We should read history as little critically as we consider the landscape,  and be more interested by the atmospheric tints and various lights and shades which the intervening shapes create, than by its groundwork and composition. It is the morning now turned evening and seen in the west, -the same sun, but a new light and atmosphere.
Henry David Thoreau, A Week on the Concord and Merrimack Rivers

After years of grinding out festivals, I hardly know how to describe this one, which isn’t even half over. What I am now reading from the pages of Thoreau is indeed timely for this parri cular moment. I have had the first-time experience of meeting students whom I haven’t seen in 25 years, from Lamar and Martin High schools as well as TCU and Texas Wesleyan universities.  The emotions are overwhelming as I try and record the experience of meeting former-students-now-adults-with-spouses-and-children. I never realized how much I loved them all and what an impact they made on my life until now. It will take some time to sort all of this out and record all the memories and conversations in my personal journal. Teaching for a quarter of a century has its upside. I never really thought I made much of a difference anywhere. I guess it’s time to reconsider this, and be thankful.

3 Responses to “Historical Musings at an Art Festival”

  1. Deanna Tennent Masterson Says:

    Your tent has lots of eye appeal! The old trunk at the entrance is especially nice & would invite me in.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. redharparts Says:

    Yes, I really like your display, too. On teaching for 25 years: BELIEVE you make a difference! Each teacher who connects with a student leaves a legacy in that student’s life. I’m about to travel across the country to attend the memorial for a man who was my teacher for 9 years (he died at 90+ y/o). A large contingent of his former students are coming from all over the country. THAT’s the impact you make!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

