Sunday Afternoon Leisure

Sunday Afternoon in the Quiet Study

Sunday Afternoon in the Quiet Study

All the arts we practice are apprenticeship.  The big art is our life.

M. C. Richards

In the calmness of the Sunday afternoon before returning to work in the morning, I have found delight in having met several major deadlines over this difficult weekend.  And so, this afternoon, as I sat with coffee, wondering what to read, I decided instead to draw the coffee cup and saucer before me with an Ebony pencil.  I have really missed sketching, and the sensation of dragging the soft graphite over the sketchbook paper revived some lost pleasures.  In response to this sacred moment, I then gave another part of my waning weekend to tidying up my studio and reorganizing my watercolor supplies.  This I did in anticipation of a busy life once the leaves begin to turn in Texas and reveal some new colors I have missed over this past year.  In the meantime, some quiet reflection and writing in the journal are now giving me the kind of quiet afternoon I have coveted for several days.  Hopefully, as I look for ways to live a more artful life, my attempts at making new art will get me back to the prolific levels it knew before the fall school schedule became so demanding.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Leave a Reply

