Friday Night Respite

A New Greeting Card Featuring John Dryden

A New Greeting Card Featuring John Dryden

Living is a form of not being sure, not knowing what next or how.  The moment you know how, you begin to die a little.  The artist never entirely knows.  We guess.  We may be wrong, but we take leap after leap in the dark.

Agnes de Mille

My mind still second-guesses my decision to stay home on a Friday night and grade online college homework that was backing up.  But I did.  And I’m happy now to see an empty file on my Blackboard.  What surprises me even more is that I moved from that chore to cleaning up my dwelling place, which took even longer.  But now I can relax.  I have my last craft show in Arlington for this year, in the morning beginning at 9:00.  It is a one-day affair, and indoors. I went drove there late this afternoon and set up my booth, so all is ready.  As I was reaching for a book and heading for a comfy chair, I suddently realized that this blog has lay dormant since last weekend.  So, I decided to post one of my brand-new greeting cards.  Years ago I created a series of collages featuring my personal intellectual heroes from the world of literature, theology and philosophy.  I even put some of them on a greeting card, but never put a text on the backside, until this week.  Now I have a quantity of 5 x 7″ cards (collage image as well as tribute text) featuring Dryden, Shakespeare, Locke, Berkeley, Whitman, T. S. Eliot, Burroughs, Ginsberg, Einstein, Paul Tillich and Dickens.  I’ll be bringing them out into the public for the first time tomorrow at the fair.  I have a number of additional collage compositions ready for greeting card format, but I’ve decided to hold them back until I put a tribute on the back of each of them as well–Proust, Kant, Hegel, Emerson, Thoreau, Melville, Tennyson and Poe.

This week has been wild and woolly for me, but not interesting enough to post details.  Suffice it to say that high school and college kept my plate full every day and every night, and it wasn’t much fun.  I read almost nothing outside my preparations for all the classes.  And I graded for hours and hours.  I’m just glad to have those details swept clean, to have a festival to attend tomorrow, and the rest of the week open.  Whether I read, journal, paint, or do all three, remains to be seen.  But I’m really happy I spent Friday night tidying up these annoying details in order to set myself free for another 48 hours or so.

Thanks always for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

