Enthusiasm Lurks in the Night Shadows

Ten-Minute Charcoal Erasure at Trinity Arts Guild

Ten-Minute Charcoal Erasure at Trinity Arts Guild

Nothing great was every achieved without enthusiasm.

Ralph Waldo Emerson

Dare to strike out and find new ground.

Mr. Keating (played by Robin Williams) in “Dead Poets Society”

I am trembling as I write this.  Tonight I did my volunteer “gallery sitting” at the Trinity Arts Guild gallery at the Bedford Boys Ranch, as is my custom on most Wednesday nights.  It’s always quiet here, and I hate it when I spend the entire time grading papers.  Tonight I brought some still life objects from my man cave and some charcoal drawing supplies.  I spent nearly ninety minutes working on stuff for my A. P. Art History class tomorrow.  But all the while, I had this itch that would not go away.  I kept thinking about my afternoon experience of doing charcoal erasure for the first time in my life, and remembered my workshop participants over this past weekend discussing how their art always turned a corner when they got out of their comfort zone.  So, pushing my textbook and laptop aside, I trained a spotlight on this old lantern, sat down with charcoals and paper, and began.  After ten minutes I just had to stop.  The experience was too wonderful to describe. Like this afternoon, I covered my subject area with smears of rich charcoal, then got out a kneaded eraser and began drawing the highlights of the lantern, beginning at the top and stopping before I finished the globe.  As I continually watched with amazement the lighted surfaces of the lantern emerging from the darkness beneath my fingers, I just couldn’t bear the excitement.  This was truly a different, breath-taking experience in my solitary studio.  I decided to go ahead and post a snapshot of my setting before packing my materials and heading back to the house.  I still have school work to do, and wonder right now if I will “do the right thing” as pertains to my job, or indulge a little more in these studio experiences.  I have missed them so.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

