A Third Place Honor

Art, like reality, can bring you to your knees, but I would not trade with anyone else.  As Mondrian used to say: “If we cannot free ourselves from the hazards and conflicts inherent in living in space and time, we can free our vision.”  The artist’s medium is his collaborator and his conscience in that effort in which only a few succeed.

Robert Motherwell, “A Process of Painting,” October 5, 1963

Third Place, Camp Fire First Texas: An Artist's Christmas

Third Place, Camp Fire First Texas: An Artist’s Christmas

Monday proved to be a grinder for me–three art history classes in a row, a lunch hour duty, followed by a one-hour meeting.  I was bone tired by day’s end, but I had promised to attend a Gala event at The Worthington Renaissance Fort Worth Hotel this evening.  Months ago, I had donated a painting for Camp Fire Girls as a fundraiser for their silent auction. I knew there was a competition attached, but I also knew the caliber of artists from all over north Texas who would be submitting work.  Nevertheless, I knew this to be a worthy cause, so I submitted a painting I created a few years ago.

Upon arrival at the art display this evening, my eyes could not stop marveling at the beautiful paintings lining the walls of the Burr Oak Lounge on the upper deck of the hotel.  Taking folded papers from my suit pocket, I began recording notes, observations, and ideas inspired by these masterful works.  The wine and hors d’oeuvres were also first-rate, as was the live music provided.  I was ecstatic to find a number of artist friends whom I’ve known and respected over the past several years.  The conversations were rich and everyone exuded an enthusiasm over the painting process.

I was shocked when awarded Third Place in the competition, and the congratulations and well-wishes that followed were even better.  Now that the hour has gotten late, I’m having problems decompressing and getting into bed.  Tomorrow is another long day at school, and I have responsibilities in the evening once again.  It’s a busy, relentless schedule I’m experiencing at this stage of the fall semester.  I’m glad it will be over soon.  Today has been a good day, and tonight was a great night.

Good night, and thanks always for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “A Third Place Honor”

  1. Heidi Russell Says:

    Congratulations!

    Like

  2. Deanna Tennent Masterson Says:

    Well done! Your work deserves accolades.

    Like

  3. Martha Keim-St. Louis Says:

    Congratulations. You earned it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

