The Gift

Quick Watercolor Sketch Among Friends

Quick Watercolor Sketch Among Friends

Poetry is the opening and closing of a door, leaving those who look through to guess about what is seen during the moment.

Carl Sandburg

After days of continuous teaching and grading, I determined to lay the papers aside and take only my art supplies to the Trinity Arts Guild this evening where it is my Wednesday night custom to “gallery sit” as a volunteer.  Over the past few months of Wednesday nights I have experienced only one evening in the company of another artist.  Expecting to be alone tonight, I nevertheless was determined not to grade papers, but to practice some watercolor still life sketching.  Just as I was getting out my supplies, another artist appeared.  Then another.  Then another.  The next thing I knew, a merry quartet of kindred spirits had gatthered to make art, talk, laugh, and have the time of their lives.  I could only think of the warmth I’ve always known from the Carl Sandburg quote about how a poem can elicit that feeling of “the opening and closing of a door.”  After three hours, the moment passed and the open door closed once again, but I will never forget this night and the words exchanged among friends who live for these moments of relaxing and making art.  I couldn’t have planned a better, more perfect evening if I’d tried.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “The Gift”

  1. lifeofawillow Says:

    wonderful post.

    Like

  2. jenniferalicechandler Says:

    Beautiful sketch!

    Like

  3. coreyaber Says:

    I like how the lantern in this, and in your charcoal studies, seems to emerge out of the background. Very cool

    Like

  4. letspaintnature Says:

    Beautiful words and beautiful painting!

    Like

  5. Martha Keim-St. Louis Says:

    As always, terrific. Your last line always hits me in the gut. I think I do too. It isn’t helping right now, but I will paint more, blog more, inspired by your watercolor sketch. I hope.

    Like

Leave a Reply

