Holidays and the Fulness of Time

Anticipating the Holidays

Anticipating the Holidays

Writing has laws of perspective, of light and shade just as painting does, or music. If you are born knowing them, fine. If not, learn them. Then rearrange the rules to suit yourself.

Truman Capote

On my final day of school, before dismissing for the holidays, I am flooded with feelings of good will.  In my art history classes today, we are focusing on Paul Cezanne and his struggles to find his own place in the Impressionist world, while at the same time opening the door to the twentieth century and modernism in painting.  I love this statement from Truman Capote because it fits the philosophy of Paul Cezanne and my best art teachers like a glove.  I wonder daily over where my life is going, in art as well as in the broad contours of things we must do.  And today I find myself thinking over how I can rearrange some of these rules to present my ideas better.

What bewilders me as I prepare to sail into these holidays is a series of messages received from several sources over this past week reminding me that others are looking at my daily work and blog.  This only makes me want to work more fervently in what I write and the images I post.  Last night, just before bedtime, I received notice that my blog was included in the website http://www.artmatch4u.com/wblogs2.html.  This alone makes me swell with a sense of pride, but much more, I want to be better at what I accomplish and publish.

Though my blog will probably silence over the holidays, it won’t be due to a hiatus–I’ll simply be working harder and trying to write better things in the weeks ahead.  If the blog is silent, the drafting table and journal will be busier than ever.  I’m so grateful to have some quality days away from the daily job.  Thanks always for taking time out to read what I post.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself I am never really alone.

Tags:

4 Responses to “Holidays and the Fulness of Time”

  1. Xraypics Says:

    I do enjoy reading your thoughts and observations, not to mention looking at your paintings and drawings. i hope you have a simply great period of rest and come back refreshed. Tony

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Tony, it’s always refreshing hearing from you. I hope you’re still enjoying retirement and travel. The school load has made the art enterprise much more difficult lately, but I appreciate this holiday season.

      Like

  2. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    The break that refreshes! Always welcome. Enjoy the peace and silence of working in your studio.

    Like

Leave a Reply

