Fishing Stories in the Velvet Night

Assembling a Fly Fishing Still Life

Assembling a Fly Fishing Still Life

We spoke of fish caught and lost, of boats bought and sold, of storms endured, of lines broken and tackle destroyed, of friendship embraced, of lore imparted, of great lies told on waters long since impounded in the still, unrippling lakes of memory.

Howell Raines, Fly Fishing through the Midlife Crisis

With Texas temperatures hovering in the mid-sixties on this Friday night, I found a delicious space in time, clearing out my favorite studio space in my garage and setting to work on a fly fishing still life arrangement. I have posted a photo of the assembly in progress.  The quality portion of this night was spent walking about and looking at this from several angles while adjusting lights to suit my eye for a potential watercolor composition.  I love the above quote from Howell Raines, and can picture these objects talking in hushed tones among themselves in the night of similar memories and adventures.

The Thanksgiving holiday last week put me in the spirit to paint and I’ve waited all week for this time to come.  It appears that I’ll be able to get after it tomorrow and Sunday.  No appointments are on my radar and I look forward with great anticipation to this encounter.

More later . . . thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Fishing Stories in the Velvet Night”

  1. gyoungphd Says:

    Oh wow. I can’t wait!

    Like

Leave a Reply

