Closing Out a Weekend of Joyce Literature and Watercolor Experiments

Closing Out a Weekend in the Studio

Closing Out a Weekend in the Studio

The poet, through his command of words, is a mediator between the world of ideas and the world of reality.

Harry Levin, Preface to Joyce’s A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man

I’m feeling the fatigue stemming from a weekend of scrutinizing, drawing and watercoloring still life objects.  But my heart is filled, and the words of James Joyce have been a soothing balm for my soul.  I would like to have gotten further into my watercolor, but I took my time, and built up quite a few layers, darkening the background on the righthand side of the composition.  The doorknob and surrounding wood has been fun to work on, and from time to time I’ve used pencil, eraser, straightedge and circle templates to lay out the other objects.  This is going to be a 16 x 20″ watercolor and I’m excited about the prospects.

The Beginnings of the Watercolor

The Beginnings of the Watercolor

Time now to bed and a decent night’s sleep for tomorrow’s school hours.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember. 

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Closing Out a Weekend of Joyce Literature and Watercolor Experiments”

  1. coreyaber Says:

    Wow the darks on the right really glow. I tried to break down what you did–I think I saw transparent yellow followed by winsor violet to start based on your earlier posts. Did you layer on more colors or just alternate with those? I’ve been thinking about getting winsor violet to try out. Would you recommend it? Still tinkering with my palette.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      You’re very close. Aureolin yellow first. Dried. Then Winsor violet mixed with same yellow. Dried. Then I stirred those same colors into permanent rose and, Winsor blue (green shade). Finally another layer of Winsor violet. Time consuming and I probably will need to do more on the background. I recommend Winsor violet. Mostly my palette these days is both Winsor blues (red and green shade), Transparent yellow and Winsor red. I mix Winsor green and Alizarin crimson to darken colors

      Like

Leave a Reply

