Nature Wears the Colors of the Spirit

Yet it is certain that the power to produce this delight does not reside in nature, but in man, or in a harmony of both.  It is necessary to use these pleasures with great temperance.  For nature is not always tricked in holiday attire, but the same scene which yesterday breathed perfume and glittered as for the frolic of the nymphs is overspread with melancholy today.  Nature always wears the colors of the spirit.

Ralph Waldo Emerson, Nature

Waking at 7:58 this morning to a dark overcast 48-degree Sunday morning gave me pause, because I felt so good.  Wondering why the gloomy exterior made me warmer inside reminded me of this Emerson text that I searched out and posted.  I responded by putting on Mozart so that once I emerged from the shower and fixed breakfast I was able to say honestly that even the eggs tasted better this morning.  I never know how to explain this phenomenon (waking to a dark overcast morning creating warm solitude just as easily as it creates despondency and loneliness) except to say that many friends yesterday (both living as well as those deceased who still speak through their written words) managed to put a great deal of wind in my sails, and I found myself happy in my work.  Today I rise, happy to return to the task.  I have a still life waiting patiently for me in the garage studio. . .

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

 

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

