Growing Like Corn in the Night?

Detailing a Small Portion of the Still Life Watercolor

Detailing a Small Portion of the Still Life Watercolor

We blossom just as the trees blossom, but we cooperate so much less.  While the trees lean into the approaching seasons and submit themselves to the will of nature, we fight the richness being made of ourselves and we fight it with “busyness.”  Too many people, too many books, newspapers, and events, crowd our consciousness for our own ripening to occur.  We are distracted from the matter at hand: another soul being brought into maturity.

Julia Cameron, The Sound of Paper: Starting from Scratch

I posted the above quote because throughout this day I heard in my heart Thoreau’s remark about growing “like corn in the night.”  This was a day filled with “busyness” that began around 7:35 and did not stop until after 4:00 this afternoon.  I never stopped.  Yet, all day long, I just ached to get back into the studio.  Once I finally did, I stayed. There is not much work to show for all the hours and concentration, but I do feel that I grew in some ways that matter.

The photo above represents only about 20% of the area space of the still life arrangement I’m trying to render.  The rest of the picture plane is just white paper with some stray pencil marks.  I can scarcely believe that I spent a large part of tonight just focusing on the doorknob with the adjacent wood and fabric, as well as the chair spokes and door behind it.  But I loved the process, the concentration.  The decisions I’m forced to make with this slick hot-press paper surface keep me from putting my brush on automatic pilot.  The neutral colors involved also have me experimenting with color combinations I’ve never before tried.  I was hoping I would have more to put on the blog tonight, but I’m feeling spent.  I guess there are faster ways to write: I was busy throughout the day with assignments, then settled into a night of painting.  But I think that would leave the blog a little flat.  At any rate, it’s time to get some sleep and hopefully find renewed energy to face tomorrow’s tasks, at school first and the studio later.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Leave a Reply

