Keeping Shop in my Rustic Christmas Gallery

Keeping Afternoon Hours in my Classroom Christmas Art Gallery

Keeping Afternoon Hours in my Classroom Christmas Art Gallery

Beauty in art reminds one what is worthwhile.

Ezra Pound

Every year as we near the Christmas season, my principal gives me the nod to display and sell my art out of my classroom at Arlington Martin High School.  Scores of faculty and students seem to enjoy browsing what I have as they make last-minute Christmas shopping decisions.  I stay after school until 3:30, hanging in the gallery, reading, drinking coffee and chatting with anyone who drops by.  It feels good as we wind down this semester and anticipate the holidays.  I’ll have my gallery open Monday through Wednesday this week and next.

Later tonight I plan to get back to my studio work.  My mind has been on the fly fishing still life all day and I’m itching to return to it.  With some good fortune, I’ll post an update tonight.  For the time being, I’m chilling in my gallery, listening to good music, and trying to learn more about Hegel’s philosophy.  The guest lecturer last Friday really lit a fire under me and I desire to know more . . .

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

 

Tags:

2 Responses to “Keeping Shop in my Rustic Christmas Gallery”

  1. Playamart - Zeebra Designs Says:

    i am online only once a week, and there’s rarely time for emails and blogs, but i have noted that i’ve not seen notices of your posts… yesterday i realized that the ‘following’ was no longer marked – perhaps because of a sensitive keyboard and unintentional ‘unfollow’ but that’s happened in the past with a handful, so it might have been a WP glitch.

    anyway, it’s good to be back here and catching up – i think as artists we are destined to have those low times, which make us embrace the good ones when they arrive!

    everyone surely loves shopping at your gallery! happy holidays!

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      I just found this, and hope I’ve fixed it. You were spammed, and I’m very sorry–it was not something I did (not intentionally, if I did). I’ve missed hearing from you and beginning last night have tried to answer every one of your comments as well as respond to wonderful pieces that you’ve posted and I wasn’t getting. But I’m following you, once again, and am so sorry that we somehow got disconnected. It’s great to see your work again and read your upbeat words.

      Like

Leave a Reply

