Another One of those Multi-Faceted, Rewarding Days

Continued Work Tonight in the Studio

Continued Work Tonight in the Studio

Every life is many days, day after day.  We walk through ourselves, meeting robbers, ghosts, giants, old men, young men, wives, widows, brothers-in-love.  But always meeting ourselves.

James Joyce, Ulysses

As the evening hour draws late, I hardly know how to set forth this day in words.  The classes at school were as energetic as always, with AVID students tearing into their tutorial sessions with a vigor unlike what I’m used to seeing as a semester winds down.  The energy was electric and I still tingle at every remembrance.  Philosophy came later and Nietzsche was our man of the hour.  I’m not used to lecturing for such long stretches, but the students seemed to give me the space ungrudgingly, and I took it.  I felt their passion as I endeavored to lead them through his lifetime contributions and point out his tragedies and triumphs.  Quiet hours in my classroom/studio later yielded some excellent reading in texts from Hegel and Joyce.  I still cannot stop thinking about what our guest lecturer brought to our class last Friday.  I also was privileged to pass some afternoon time in conversation with outstanding business associates in the art and retail business.  I always come away from those encounters with a renewed sense of optimism and enthusiasm for making and selling art.

After some afternoon studio activity, I got to spend time over dinner in conversation with a fascinating, engaging man who shares so many of my interests, in philosophy, theology, art, politics–the longer we talked the more convinced I was that I had found a kindred spirit on more levels than I could imagine.  I can’t wait for follow-up conversations.  This is the kind of man I wish I could have had regular conversations with during my graduate school years–I look back on those lonely, solitary times when I continually wished I could find one, just one creative spirit with whom I could engage in these kinds of exchanges.  Why is good conversation so rare?

When I got home, I found an email waiting from the West Coast from a creative spirit who always says the right things to encourage me in what I’m trying to do with watercolor.  I just had to read the letter again and again and again.  Though I was tired, I knew I had no choice but to get back into the garage and pick up that brush again.  By the time I re-entered the studio tonight, I knew my physical energy was in decline.  But I broke all rules of common sense, put on a pot of coffee, and resumed work on the still life that has absorbed my attention for days.

I spent most of these late hours drawing, erasing, re-drawing, erasing some more, yet never frustrated with the revisions, just drawn in by the whole process.  There are no deadlines here.  I want to get it right.

After about an hour of intense concentration over the watercolor, I decided it was time for some decompression.  I pulled up a chair, drank my final cup of coffee, and resumed reading some excellent secondary material on Joyce’s Ulysses.  Our high school librarian is a rich resource who provided me today with a remarkable James Joyce bibliography.  I was wanting to read some critical discussion on his style and contribution to modern thought, and she put the right books in my hand.  Thank you, Suzanne!

Pouring out my soul tonight feels good.  Thank you for reading.  Thank you for sharing in what has been a fulfilling day.  As I moved from person to person throughout this day, I was allowed to meet myself.  Thanks all of you.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Another One of those Multi-Faceted, Rewarding Days”

  1. Playamart - Zeebra Designs Says:

    at times you remind me SO MUCH of thoreau! how great that you’ve crossed paths with someone who connects on many levels.

    the painting looks great, and i hope that the coffee was decaf? otherwise you might be painting for the rest of the night! z

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      I never feel worthy when mentioned in the same breath as Thoreau, but thank you for that compliment. He is such a bard for me and has enriched me for over twenty years for now. As for the coffee–I never drink decaf, and the real thing never keeps me awake at night the way it did in college days so many decades ago!

      Like

Leave a Reply

