A Beautiful Mind

Cold Rainy Night in the Garage Studio

Cold Rainy Night in the Garage Studio

What truly is logic? Who decides reason? My quest has taken me to the physical, the metaphysical, the delusional, and back. I have made the most important discovery of my career – the most important discovery of my life.

John Nash accepting the Nobel Prize in the film “A Beautiful Life”

This afternoon, while looking through Andrew Wyeth books, I finally decided I wanted to work on a still life of apples and a pail I was given over the Christmas holidays.  I started experiencing those mid-afternoon drowsy spells stemming from my erratic sleeping patterns over the past few days, so I took a catnap, then rose and went to the garage and began setting up the arrangement.

My New Still Life Set Up

My New Still Life Set Up

As soon as I set to work on rendering the pail, I realized I needed some scaffolding help, so I took out my triangle, flex ruler and metal ruler, and then went to work drafting the framework of this bucket on its side, tilted slightly downward from the horizontal plane.  Suddenly, my mind drifted to that movie “A Beautiful Mind”, starring Russell Crowe, and I knew I needed to go back into the house to watch portions of it.  Of course, I was moved emotionally, again.  The beauty of that man’s quest for mathematical structure and a way to apply it to an original theory I find very attractive.

Returning to the studio, I worked into the cold night, enjoying the communion with the objects before me, my thoughts of John Nash and his contributions, and images of Andrew Wyeth drybrush watercolor sketches strewn across the table beside me.  I realized I was in the perfect environment tonight.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am never alone.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “A Beautiful Mind”

  1. umashankar Says:

    The last line convinced me of your conviction. Who decides loneliness?

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you for posting that. Blogging has helped me take the edge off that existential feeling of isolation. It’s rewarding to feel that connection with other minds while exploring the creative frontiers of life.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

