Warm Memories to Fight Back Against a Cold Day

In art, we are the first to be heirs of all the earth. . . . Accidents impair and Time transforms, but it is we who choose.

Andre Malraux

Texas Wesleyan University

Texas Wesleyan University

What a frigid Texas day! I know the Midwest and Northeast received the worst of the winter weather, but boring Texas gave us a 32-degree day with darkness and environmental dimness and not a trace of snow. Just cold. When high school let out, I had some administrative business to tend at Texas Wesleyan University in neighboring Fort Worth. Being strictly an online teacher at this time, I had no idea how much I missed that campus. Posted is a photo I took of the administration building after I had lumbered up and down three stories of stairwells inside. This morning, we discussed rustication in my A. P. Art History class, pointing out the Romans’ use of it in architecture and how the Italians picked it back up again in Renaissance times. I couldn’t resist shooting this facade, thinking back over what we had discussed earlier.

Once in the library, I returned to a spot on the top floor that I had always referred to as Luther’s Tower.  It was here that I cloistered myself before and after evening lectures, always enjoying the sight of the distant Fort Worth skyline to the north.

Fort Worth Skyline from the Top Floor of the University Library

Fort Worth Skyline from the Top Floor of the University Library

Fifteen years!  That is how long ago this university hired me to do adjunct work for them. It still seems like yesterday, and the longer I sat in that overstuffed leather armchair reading Wallace Stevens, the more I had to brush the memories away like a cloud before my face. It was a comfort in the best sense, a warming sensation on a frigid day that tried to bring depression in its claws.

Guitars Waiting for Me

Guitars Waiting for Me

Once I arrived back home, my waiting guitars made a good day even better.  My friend Reid had given me plenty of inspiration and material to practice from the night before, and I was anxious all day to begin work on these pieces. I’m glad to have an evening at home again–a chance to do some things that matter to me.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Warm Memories to Fight Back Against a Cold Day”

  1. Xraypics Says:

    What an odd coincidence; my wife and I were discussing last night the word Rustication in the context of the book she was reading, with the sense; to temporarily expel someone to get them out of the way whilst a decision was being made, i.e. to send them down to the country. As far as I’m aware this is the generally accepted British interpretation. It also means, as you have used it, to cover a building in rough-hewn material to make it look more Rustic. And there we have it – “Two nations divided by a common language”.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      What a cool comment to read from you, Tony. I love it when a wordsmith such as you digs to the bottom and extacts parallels like that. I had never heard the word before until I got into architecture and used it the way I just did. I hope the retired life is still treating you well. I think of you often, and how wonderful it must be to pursue your passion and not have to answer the compulsory bell every day to go to the job.

      Like

Leave a Reply

