Coming of Age

Very Rapid Sketch of My All-Time Favorite Musicians

A Very Rapid Sketch of My All-Time Favorite Musicians

As I come of age
I keep fallin’ down
And I feel just like a schoolboy
I was in a senseless rage
Runnin’ too hard
And I tore you all to pieces

Yes but it’s all over now
I’m a little bit older now
The lessons that I’m learnin’ now
Gonna make it easy
Somehow

Now then can I try
Starting over
Put the pieces back together
Even as I cry bitter tears
I can see it’s all a puzzle
A game
Always the same

By the time I die with the passing
If I’ve sorted out my changes
And if you could take the time
I would tell you that it’s still a puzzle
The same
Always a game

Stephen Stills, As I Come of Age

After a more-challenging-than-usual school week, I now face the ponderous task of grading stacks and stacks of papers to meet a report card deadline. As Friday afternoon stretched into evening, I decided I deserved a break and strolled into a music store and WOW, I found a DVD of a Crosby,Stills & Nash concert from 2012. To my knowledge, I have every VHS and DVD performance of theirs available, and had no idea that this one existed. The lyrics to the song posted above I heard for the first time in 1992 and was moved profoundly by the quality of the music as well as the message. But I only heard the studio recording that I’ve possessed, and it is driven by piano. On this new set, two acoustic guitars lead the song, and I cannot describe the emotion I felt as I heard the voices of my three vocal heroes mesh over the strains of the acoustic strings. At this point I can say no more. I’ll try to do some quality blogging this weekend, between grading.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am never alone.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Coming of Age”

  1. Playamart - Zeebra Designs Says:

    Sounds like a great find. I’ll try to find some of that concert on youtube the next time I’m using faster internet. z

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      You won’t be sorry! Today I’ve listened to the entire concert for the second time and all I can say is WOW!!!! I have no interest in the celebrity status of professional musicians–I only know that I feel a deep debt of gratitude when they move me, convince me that life is wonderful after all, and prod me into being creative in my own way. CSN has done that for me over the decades.

      Like

  2. createarteveryday Says:

    Thanks for being a teacher. You probably don’t hear that enough.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      What a sweet comment, thank you. Yes, I do get that, perhaps more than I deserve! Despite my occasional published gripes, I have always felt overflowing gratitude from students, and they seem to out-do themselves in finding ways to say Thank You to me. As for politicians and taxpayers–well, that’s another story. I try not to listen to them. I know our worth, my worth, and my students never let me down in expressing these sentiments. Thank you again, and I wish you a wonderful day.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

