Astonished at a Painting of an Apple?

apple

With an apple I will astonish Paris.

Paul Cezanne

I will admit I have yet to understand Cezanne’s sentiment in that statement. Paris and the rest of the world would be astonished at his innovative style and the way he ushered in a new century of modernist painting, but I’m still not sure how he believed his work on the apple would create astonishment. Nevertheless I have wanted to watercolor an apple for years and finally got around to attempting it this winter, and hope to continue improving in that subject. The garage has felt progressively colder the past three hours I’ve been at work there, so I’ve decided to return to the warmth of my house and spend the rest of the day “nesting” (and grading) inside. I’m glad I worked up the initiative to enter the garage and attempt to get the watercolor groove back. Perhaps I’ll get some more accomplished at my living room drafting table. We’ll see. At any rate, this has been an excellent start to the day.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Astonished at a Painting of an Apple?”

  1. Jeannie Handlang Keller Says:

    Love the apples and the bucket!

    Like

Leave a Reply

