Practicing Some Plein Air Sketching at the Festival

image

12 Responses to “Practicing Some Plein Air Sketching at the Festival”

  1. createarteveryday Says:

    Wow, you do beautiful work. How many years have you been working at this?

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you so much. I didn’t do a decent watercolor until 1988. I got more serious about it ten years ago and am still trying to get better. Thank you for the encouragement.

      Liked by 1 person

      • createarteveryday Says:

        Of course! Thanks for sharing your work with us. Do you mind if I ask how long it took you to do “decent” work? I am trying not to get discouraged.

        Like

      • davidtripp Says:

        I am not embarrassed to discuss this. I’m in the midst of a busy art festival and may need to answer in more detail later. I did my 1st decent watercolor in 1988. By 2006 I decided to apply myself more and study to improve. In 2010 I concluded that practice was the most essential and jumped from 15 a year to over 100 per year. Being prolific was what turned the corner for me.

        Like

      • createarteveryday Says:

        Wow! That’s amazing! Sorry to interrupt you, though. But when you get a chance, I’m wondering how long before 1988 do you think you worked with watercolor before you could call your work “decent”? (I’m really impressed you’re able to create more than 100 paintings in a year with a full-time job!)

        Like

      • davidtripp Says:

        You’re far too kind. Many of the paintings are small sketches. 5×7 and 8×10’s.

        Liked by 1 person

      • createarteveryday Says:

        Still….I think it’s pretty amazing.

        Like

      • davidtripp Says:

        From 1972 till 1988 I probably did a dozen watercolors–all of them muddy and bad. I finally figured it out–don’t keep working on it when it’s wet, and make sure the transparent layers of color don’t neutralize.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Heidi Russell Says:

    This is beautiful – captures the rainy mood…

    Like

  3. coreyaber Says:

    Very nice. I like how you handled all the little branches. Good luck at the fair

    Like

Leave a Reply

