Every Day a Hook, a Mantra, a Rai·son d’ê·tre

My Newly-Furbished Working Space at Home

My Newly-Furbished Working Space at Home

If you can’t find your inspiration by walking around the block one time, go around two blocks–but never three.

Robert Motherwell

At the close of each day, I find myself scribbling in my journal, and smiling inwardly at a TV show long ago that I refused to watch–Doogie Howser, M.D. I seem to recall that he closed his episodes with a computer diary that he pecked at before going to bed. Oh well, I’ve done that since the 1980’s in my handwritten journals, but I owe this practice to Henry David Thoreau, not a fictional TV character.

I don’t have any art work to post from today, as it has been covered up in grading and school administrative details. However, as the day unfolded, I realized that it is my daily practice to find something, anything, to serve as a “cause” for the day. A reason to exist. Something toward which to strive. A mantra, if you please. So . . . as I finished my second class, the idea dawned on me to convert my third bedroom at home (which is always getting junked up) into yet another working space–a space to dream, to create, to read, to write, to work on art projects. It took awhile to carry out and store all the debris, but the photo above shows what I carried in and what I put on the walls. This is the right side of the room. The left side, which I worked on some time ago, is below:

Left-Hand Side of my New Working Space

Left-Hand Side of my New Working Space

Once everything was in place, I rewarded myself with an hour of reading and writing while sunk into a comfy sofa. Robert Motherwell and James Joyce provided my mental and aesthetic stimulation for the day, amazing me with their remarkable erudition and creative eros.  My artistic style has never approached that of Motherwell, but I love his mind, his command of language, and truly enjoy looking at his art. My complete collection of Motherwell books were stacked on the study table, and I perused them for an entire hour, before leaving for my daily two-mile exercise walk. As I read and recorded my observations, I looked occasionally to see what was before me now,a more pleasing environment:

The View from the Sofa

The View from the Sofa

I am not trying to make a mountain out of a mole-hill; I feel badly that I allowed a valuable room in my house to fill up with debris and become a storage unit. Now I can live here, work here, relax here.

Sorry I don’t have anything more interesting to report today. But this was my mantra for the day, my highlight of the day. And I can now close on a positive note.  More and better tomorrow, I trust.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Every Day a Hook, a Mantra, a Rai·son d’ê·tre”

  1. createarteveryday Says:

    Beautiful job! What an inviting space. Happy Friday!

    Like

  2. Xraypics Says:

    What a pleasant space to be in. Tony

    Like

Leave a Reply

