Still Musing Over the Abandoned Gas Station

Making Some Final Decisions on this Composition

Making Some Final Decisions on this Composition

I should not talk so much about myself if there were any body else whom I knew as well. Unfortunately, I am confined to this theme by the narrowness of my experience.

Henry David Thoreau, Walden

I laughed out loud when I read the above portion from Thoreau’s Walden yesterday. He’s convinced me that it is O.K. to talk about myself on the blog. I will present Thoreau to my Philosophy class after we finish Emerson’s work, which began today.

I’m posting the picture of my watercolor as it stands now, though not too much has changed since yesterday’s work. I’ve enriched the colors on the right pump more, and began detailing the left pump. More color was added to the shadowed portions of the station wall as well. I’m beginning to tinker more with colored pencil over my watercolor, as I purchased a set of 36 Prismacolor Verithin pencils. I used these several years back, but my supply has dwindled to less than a dozen short pencils, so I thought I would replenish my colors and see how they work over the dry watercolor. I’m also experimenting with graphite pencil in the grass while the paint is still wet, and so far, I like what’s emerging from this endeavor.

I spent the evening giving art lessons to a pair of precious friends that I don’t get to see nearly as much as I wish. Though it took me out of the studio for a few hours, I wouldn’t have traded my evening with them for anything. Thanks friends! You know who you are, and I hope you know how precious you are to me.

Thanks for reading, and thank you, Deanna, for making my art world much, much better this past week!

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Still Musing Over the Abandoned Gas Station”

  1. Xraypics Says:

    Oh, how that gas pump jumps out at you! If you did nothing more to this study it would be enough. I’m fascinated to see how you will develop it further. Tony

    Like

  2. lalawoody Says:

    Ooh this entire post is wonderful. The painting, subject, your thoughts and Thoreau being ever so funny. Ha glad to stumble upon this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

