Momentum

Lexington, Texas Gas Station Finished (Perhaps)

Lexington, Texas Gas Station Finished (Perhaps)

I can’t get them out fast enough.

Frank Lloyd Wright

This afternoon I was in a watercoloring mood, and felt a little disappointed when I brought the old white house to a close. Then I poked around and found this one that I had forgotten some weeks ago. Without a second thought I went to work on the left gas pump which had been barely underway, then worked on the foundation underneath. All the while, I listened to the very lengthy Ken Burns documentary playing on the life of Frank Lloyd Wright. I was thrilled to hear how prolific he became around age 80, almost fifteen years before his death. When asked how he managed to tend the details of so many works under construction at once, his answer was: “I can’t get them out fast enough.” I have known that feeling personally from time to time, but would like to experience it again. Maybe it’s about to happen. At any rate, I’m closing in on finishing this gas station from Lexington, Texas that I love seeing on my trips to the coast. I’ll try to make a decision soon on bringing it to a close, and then see about the next one . . .

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “Momentum”

  1. Foghorn The IKonoclast Says:

    I really love those old pumps. reminders.

    Like

  2. coreyaber Says:

    Very cool. I love the shadow going up/down the wall

    Like

Leave a Reply

