Avalanche II

What a surprise awaited me when I opened the blinds to my living room Saturday morning and looked out into my back yard. The night before, I was at the Kimbell Art Museum, and they rushed us underground to avoid a tornado threat. I got home well after dark and didn’t think of checking my back yard, totally unaware of what was lying there to greet me the next morning. Crap. I called TXU to tell them there was a powerline underneath the tree. They wanted to know if I lost power? No. Were there sparks flying? No.Then they would get there when they could. Not yesterday, and not today either, apparently. So meanwhile, I get to look out at this titanic corpse of a tree that fills my entire back yard until they deal with the power line. Then I get to hire a crew to cut it up and haul it out.

Choosing to stay home the entire day, JUST IN CASE THEY CAME, I began reclaiming the rooms of my house that were set in disarray from my hauling out art work and furniture for last week’s festival. I don’t know how I manage this, but I trash out my house every time I get ready for an art festival, with all the matting, shrinkwrapping, packaging, packing and loading. Then when I return, everything just gets dumped back into the rooms, and I usually walk around it for a week before I get so sick of seeing it that I finally set to work tidying, and reclaiming my special work spaces.

Motherwell Room

Motherwell Room

Most of my art work is stored in the room I like to call my Motherwell Room. Robert Motherwell’s blend of artistic prowess with scholarly erudition has always had ways of motivating me to learn more, to be more. Thus, I have this room set up with all my Motherwell books, as well as a table for making art, and most of my unhanged art work arranged around the walls and stored in the walk-in closet.

Motherwell Room

Motherwell Room

I also reserve a corner of that room for my special reading. Saturday was given to a day of reading and painting.

Beginnings of a New Painting

Beginnings of a New Painting

It’s been awhile since I’ve sketched or painted railroad subjects. Here is a Union Pacific caboose I photographed a few years ago in the historic Handley neighborhood of east Fort Worth. I have a railroad series in mind that was inspired by some things I’ve read recently from Proust concerning the series paintings of Claude Monet. We’ll see how it all shakes out.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Avalanche II”

  1. Cheryl Rose Says:

    So glad that tree did not hit your house. That happened to us last year. We lost one of our Bradford Pear trees. I understand they don’t have a strong root system like an Oak tree.

    Like

  2. Xraypics Says:

    You are very lucky. Really pleased you didn’t have any damage. Old poem, I don’t know where it comes from; Leafy top tumbled/ The great beech lies humbled./ Workmen dressed in scarves and parkas/ Scramble all over the old tree’s carcase/ Cutting it up with wild irrelevance/ Into spare parts for worn out elephants.

    Like

  3. Playamart - Zeebra Designs Says:

    it’s always ironic when that ‘aha’ moment hits.. we are supposed to be so observant, yet we can often miss the sleeping elephant in the backyard! i once opened doors early one morning in costa rica. looked at different flower beds, what was blooming, looked at/toward the monkey area, down to another level where the javalenas often forage.. ditto for coatis… then looked another level down and was stunned to see that the entire valley was flooded and looked like a giant red sea- i was ‘stranded’…

    so salvage the interesting sections of limbs and make a funny little bench or chair or table or sculpture!

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Z, I don’t know how your comments escaped my notice till now! I usually pick these up on my cell phone, but didn’t get yours this time. Thank you for caring enough to resond, and for your humor. It only took 9 days for the electric company to send a technician to repair the power line damages. Now I have to wait for the crew I’ve hired to come, cut up the tree, and get it out of my yard! I hope all is well in your art-making environment.

      Like

      • Playamart - Zeebra Designs Says:

        yikes.. youre really going to dispose of the tree? i wasn;t joking!

        someone posted an image of a huge sculpture of trees made from discarded lumber from the christchurch earthquake in new zealand. it was a stunning and very modern work.

        maybe your students can create something from some of the limbs? in latin ameria, that tree would not be wasted!

        Like

      • davidtripp Says:

        I’ve decided I’ll burn it for firewood this winter, and lift a glass to every log burning! I’m not a sculptor, and I’m really glad now that the thing is no longer filling up the entire backyard, and REALLY glad the electric company (after 9 days) got out here and stabilized my electricity by repairing the power lines.

        Like

  4. sedge808 Says:

    i agree with Cheryl Rose. So glad that tree did not hit your house.

    Like

Leave a Reply

