Travel Day

image

Rising at 3 a.m., I hit the road for the seven-hour drive to Corpus Christi. My transition to the wild already began three minutes into the journey, as a pair of coyotes crossed Green Oaks in front of my Jeep. I hope no one in the neighborhood had cats or dogs prowling outdoors.

Arriving at Roy’s Bait & Tackle at 11:00, I picked up the salt water fly reel purchased over the phone recently, and it’s a beauty. I only wish the fish could see it and choose me on the basis of class.

The plan is to take me to the island at 8 in the morning, so I have quality time today to recover from the long drive and relax with friends.

I had the privilege of visiting the small island a few weekends ago, and Thoreau’s sentiments echo mine (from A Week on the Concord and Merrimack Rivers):

An island always pleases my imagination, even the smallest, as a small continent and integral portion of the globe. I have a fancy for building my hut on one. Even a bare, grassy isle, which I can see entirely over at a glance, has some undefined and mysterious charm for me.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.
I journal when I feel alone.
I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

4 Responses to “Travel Day”

  1. coreyaber Says:

    Cool reel. I hope you have a wonderful time. Can’t wait to read your postings.

    Like

  2. Marika Reinke Says:

    An inspiring adventure!

    Like

Leave a Reply

