A Still Life Surprise!

image

Today, after arranging a few shells for a dry brush still life, I was shocked when a hermit crab emerged from one and crawled straight toward my lap! I carried him down to the water and made him happier.

Settling back into the immovable shells, I worked out this composition. I’m ready to begin another, as I’m fascinated with the structural beauty of these objects.

image

image

Thanks for reading.

5 Responses to “A Still Life Surprise!”

  1. Barbara Tyler Says:

    It has been amazing to see your progress and work during your artist residence. I’m so glad you have been able to work with the available technology and share your adventure with us. Your followers are living their summer vacations through you! Your work is beautiful; you have truly captured the colors and feel of the sense of place. Wish you could stay longer on the island. You have inspired me to get outdoors and do some watercolor work this afternoon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. malvikajaswal Says:

    Lol! That is an experience. 🙂

    Like

  3. Marika Reinke Says:

    Wheels are amazing little paintings of their own. I love the surprise. Such a great reminder. All is not what it seems.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      It was a humorous moment. I have gathered a collection of shells to take gone with me. I welcome a chance to focus on the amazing worlds on the surfaces of these small objects

      Like

Leave a Reply

