Extending the Laguna Madre Painting Experience

Maybe away from Paris I could write about Paris as in Paris I could write about Michigan.

Ernest Hemingway, A Moveable Feast

Working on the Field Station, Back in my Studio

Working on the Field Station, Back in my Studio

Today was my first day back on duty. I attended an eight-hour Advanced Placement Art History Summer Institute session. Three more days will follow. I came home, thoroughly exhausted, but in the mood to work further on the painting I started yesterday, using photographs I had taken of the field station while I was on the island. I’ve enjoyed working on it, but now it is clouding up outside, darkening and threatening to rain. I dislike painting from digital photographs I’ve taken when I was spoiled last week by plein air opportunities. But at least I have pure light coming in my studio windows. However, I will not turn on desk lamps and work from their yellow glow, so this painting will have to wait until tomorrow afternoon.

I like the Hemingway sentiment that he writes of locations better after he has left them behind. I am hoping that will happen as I put some time between now and the days I spent on the island. I do miss it so, and really miss the new friends I met while I was down there. But life moves on, and at least I still have a task to perform.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

