Acetabularia Crenulata (Mermaid’s Winecup)

Beginning of the Mermaid's Wine Cup

Beginning of the Mermaid’s Winecup

At 9:00 p.m., the hour is already late for me. I rose before dawn this morning to attend an all-day A.V.I.D. Summer Institute and will have to do the same tomorrow.  The eight-hour sessions require plenty of rest.

I came home this evening exhausted to the bone, as expected. But the conference was inspiring, and I did decide to begin another watercolor study of the Mermaid’s WInecup. I regret for my readers that I have not yet started on the actual algae painting, and will not be able to until tomorrow night. I masqued the algae carefully, then flooded the paper with several deep-toned washes and sprinkled with salt. I will not be able to remove the masquing until the entire area is bone dry, and that is not going to happen tonight. My fear is that even if I wait until tomorrow night, when I strip off the masquing, the Alizarin Crimson is going to drag into the masqued areas, leaving them pink rather than white. I would hope I could preserve the white so I could then paint carefully the delicate greens of the algae and the cream and ochre colors of the dried out stalks. I don’t know if that  will happen, but we’ll find out tomorrow evening. Watercolor is always a labratory experiment, and I believe that is one among many reasons that I felt such an affinity with the scientists when I explored and painted the environment of the Texas Laguna Madre.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

