Corpus Christi Caller-Times Just Published the Artist in Residence Experience

http://www.caller.com/entertainment/arts-and-culture/watercolorist-captures-coastal-bend-nature_71330938

I think that one’s art is just one’s effort to wed oneself to the universe, to unify oneself through union. Sometimes I have an imaginary picture in mind of the poet Mallarmé in his study late at night–changing, blotting, transferring, transforming each work and its relations with such care–and I think that the sustained energy for that travail must have come from the secret knowledge that each word was a link in the chain that he was forging to bind himself to the universe; and so with other poets, composers, and painters.

Robert Motherwell, “What Abstract Art means to Me,” February 5, 1951

If anything could have surpassed the surprise and joy I felt, waking this morning to this published article in the Corpus Christi Caller-Timesit was coming across these words from Robert Motherwell during my quiet reading. Granted, this should be the final published piece covering my Artist in Residence experience, I am still awash in the afterglow of those days, and enter my studio daily with renewed energy and faith.

I have never been able to put into words what I feel when I’m making art, and now Motherwell has published the words for me. Making art grounds me, connects me to this life as I try to express the wonder that envelops me daily. I am delighted to be on vacation now, but I am not exaggerating when I say that teaching public school the past twenty-six years has been a daily wonder, and has in no way hindered my exploration of life, but has enhanced it, enabled it. The creative juices are not suffocated by the institutional schedule, though I admit I spend too much time grousing about deadlines and mandatory meetings, paperwork, etc. Still, I have always found a way to do what matters to me–express what I feel about life and this fascinating web of mystery that surrounds us, and intrigues us all. And as an educator, nothing has stood between me and the ability to pass this joy on to the students who enter my circle every year.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone. 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

