A New Card Honoring Dad’s Service in the Korean Conflict

A New Drawing of my Dad

A New Drawing of my Dad

Friends are still sending greetings to my father, so I’m all-too-pleased to continue making new drawings and watercolors for greeting cards to honor him August 4. I just finished this pencil drawing today from a black-and-white photograph of him in the combat zone. He will be making the Freedom Honor Flight to Washington D.C. to see the memorial. He doesn’t know that when he returns, I’ll be at the airport, along with Mom, brother, sister, nieces and nephews with banners, balloons, and a mailbag of cards for him. I’m doing this because I learned that with communications being so inadequate in his war days, and his parents living on a remote farm without a phone or automobile, that no one knew when his train was arriving. Therefore, he arrived in Cape Girardeau, Missouri tired, and got off the train with no one to meet him, and had to find transporation back to the farm. He was a Bronze Star medal recipent, had been reported in his local newspaper as a war hero, and yet no one was there to greet him. It still brings tears to my eyes to think of that. He deserved better. This time we’re going to do him right. I’m grateful to everyone who has sent him a greeting (he was Sgt. Jerry Tripp) and I have been printing each greeting separately inside a custom greeting card (so far three editions–a Bronze Star, a portrait of him wearing his helmet, and now this  one.

Thank you for your time and interest in reading this.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “A New Card Honoring Dad’s Service in the Korean Conflict”

  1. Cheryl Rose Says:

    Sgt. Tripp, I salute you and thank you for your service to our country. We appreciate the sacrifice you and your family made to make sure we live in a democratic America. May God continue to bless you as you enjoy your family and friends in your golden years!

    Like

  2. Brien Nicolau Says:

    David, while no one was there to greet him then, in his mind he knew, he had to know, that he was appreciated and that his service was honored. Often a warriors return is not marked by parades but by quiet solitude and a personal pat on the back for a job well done. It is a truly personal experiences that sometimes cannot be shared.

    Your efforts are noble and say worlds about who you are. He will cherish the moment. I am proud to say we have met and hope to get to know you more. To your dad. a heartfelt thanks goes to him and all the others who have served. My dad was an old man of 19 in WWII when he lost a leg flying B-17s over Germany…..he has never regretted his service and credits his experiences with who he is now.

    Peace

    Brien

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you, Brien, for all your gracious words. My dad never asked for anything, and I’m certain he was satisfied that others loved him for who he was and his willingness to serve. What has delighted me is the wind change over recent years. He now wears a cap with his military insignias on it, and wherever I go with him on visits to St. Louis, strangers approach him with greetings, hand shakes and thank you’s. I’m just delighted to see people treating him with that kind of respect.

      Like

Leave a Reply

