Taking Risks in Watercolor

Laguna Madre Painting

Laguna Madre Painting

The life that I have chosen gives me my full hours of enjoyment.
-Winslow Homer

Taking a page from Watercolors by Winslow Homer: The Color of Light, I am pushing the envelope, exploring possibilities in watercolor I never dreamt before. Homer tried out so many experiments and techniques throughout his lifetime that he became am able technician with his materials. I feel that I have become too settled in the ways I’ve been doing things in recent years. When I discovered that I was going to be Artist-in-Residence this summer, I decided I needed to venture into new frontiers of techniques, subject matter and compositional decisions. After all, I did not accept this assignment so I could keep whipping out paintings the way I had been doing. The purpose of the new assignment was to strike forth and find new ground. And so, I have to keep reminding myself to do exactly that. At my age, it takes courage to try something new, to gamble on a watercolor well under way. But I am getting bored with seeing the same results. All of us wish to keep growing, keep maturing.

With this painting, I am grinding my modified brushes into the surface of the stretched watercolor paper, scouring, and staining the colors into the paper. I’ve tried this in the clouds and am now trying it on the land. I have also decided to try out a pair of new colors in my palette, because I am once again exploring possibilities in nature’s green. I have added Winsor Green (Yellow Shade) and Permanent Sap Green to my Transparent Yellow washes, to see if I can get a different nuance when attempting to color broad expanses of grasses. I also tightened up my building a little more, working on the window frames. I’m still not quite satisfied with them. As for the clouds, I am a little shy about tinkering with them any further at this point. I may have done all I can with them. I’ll look at all this with fresh eyes tomorrow.

I have lost the natural light of the outdoors, so it appears that I’ll have to wait until tomorrow to work on the problem of separating the foreground sand from the grasses, and figure out how to texture up the sand patterns further.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: ,

9 Responses to “Taking Risks in Watercolor”

  1. Candice Says:

    Fantastic!

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you! 

      Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

      From:”David Tripp’s Blog of Watercolors and Ideas” Date:Wed, Jul 22, 2015 at 9:32 PM Subject:[David Tripp’s Blog of Watercolors and Ideas] Comment: “Taking Risks in Watercolor”

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) Says:

    Your risks are paying off nicely! This stunning. Great post… thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Like

  3. periwinkleblur Says:

    Inspiring work!

    Like

  4. Brien Nicolau Says:

    Truly remarkable how you approach every aspect of creation. If all that comes form our efforts to establish the AiR program is your enhanced creative process then I feel we achieved something great.

    Brien

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Brien, you have no idea how much your AiR program breathed new life into what I do. I am painting with more vigor, exploring more than I have in years past, and truly loving this experience. Thanks to all of you for giving me this surge.

      Like

Leave a Reply

