Vacation Splendor

image

We tend now to regard genius as the creative capacity, as opposed to talent. The Victorian historian Froude observed that genius “is a spring in which there is always more behind than flows from it.”
Harold Bloom, Genius: A Mosaic of One Hundred Exemplary Creative Minds
Finally, I embark on an extended vacation, without clock, without calendar.  My studio today is outdoors and temperatures remain in the low 80’s which to me is heavenly. A friend I’ve known since the ’90’s recommended this Harold Bloom book to me, and I have no idea how it sailed under my radar all these years, but I’m feeling such a renewal and deep-down satisfaction as I pore over his pages. I’m feeling deeply privileged, having this space and time to read with pleasure.
The watercolor I started recently of this hard head catfish skull may be completed  now – I’m not sure I should push it any further. The Laguna Madre paintings now exceed 30 in number and I feel that I’ve just gotten started on this study. The latest word is that a one-man show will be held in the library at Texas A&M University Corpus Christi the last three weeks of October. Details are still being finalized.
Thanks for reading.
I paint in order to discover.
I journal when I feel alone.
I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

2 Responses to “Vacation Splendor”

  1. certainline Says:

    The catfish skull is beautiful and it’s been an education to watch it grow. Many thanks.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Well, thank you very much! It’s a small sketch and it was finished before I knew it. I’m glad I tried out the masquing for the textured bumps. I plan to explore that further.

      Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

      From:”David Tripp’s Blog of Watercolors and Ideas” Date:Fri, Aug 7, 2015 at 7:44 AM Subject:[David Tripp’s Blog of Watercolors and Ideas] Comment: “Vacation Splendor”

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

