Conflicted, as Usual

Trying to Get Day One Prepared

Thrashing my Way through Preparations for Monday

I force my mind to become self-absorbed and not let outside things distract it. There can be absolute bedlam without so long as there is no commotion within.

Seneca

I shun father and mother and wife and brother when my genius calls me.

Ralph Waldo Emerson, “Self-Reliance”

In Arlington, I am seated in the rear of my classroom, hammering out Advanced Placement Art History teaching points for Monday’s first day of school. Meanwhile in Corpus Christi, my new friends are assembling a one-man show of my watercolors from the Laguna Madre Artist-in-Residence experience last June. The show will be held in the university library the last three weeks in October. A larger show will follow next March in the Art Center of Corpus Christi. Focusing on my job here is demanding a Stoic resolve.

But that is what life contains-conflicts. Always. Currently, I am wrapping up a week of meetings, and my time would have been much better spent organizing the teaching points for my five subjects. But that point is never considered by those in charge of setting up these calendars. I suppose it is the state legislature that believes they are developing us as professionals by requiring long hours of sitting through meetings that penetrate our classroom efforts as effectively as a spider does water.

As I thrash out this new curriculum for Advanced Placement Art History, mandated by the College Board, I find my eye drifting to this watercolor in front of me that I began several weeks ago, and forgot to finish. The hiatus turned out to be good, I believe, because when I looked at it this morning while packing my books, I suddenly got a compositional idea I am anxious to apply–a serpentine line of grasses, foliage and coastal debris beginning with the wildflowers in the lower left foreground, and arriving eventually on the horizon line. Right now, that is all I really want to explore. But . . . I have a job to do, and I cannot put it off any longer.

Thanks for reading, and I hope this day holds great surprises for you.

I paint in order to learn.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Conflicted, as Usual”

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) Says:

    We need more teachers like you. Your work pays dividends. (I know I’ve said this before, but it bears repeating.)

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Well, thank you. I’m not feeling like much of a teacher right now, and hope it is just me. A comment like yours gives me hope and a better outlook. I appreciate you, thank you. 

      Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

      From:”David Tripp’s Blog of Watercolors and Ideas” Date:Sat, Aug 22, 2015 at 8:17 AM Subject:[David Tripp’s Blog of Watercolors and Ideas] Comment: “Conflicted, as Usual”

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

