Drawing as a Means Of Decompression

imageHaving finished my first full cycle of high school classes, I feel like the quarterback facing 2nd and 4. I believe I can make the first down. Monday featured three 90-minute classes of Advanced Placement and Regular Art History classes. Today was two A.V.I.D. classes and one Philosophy (each one 90 minutes). Having taken the summer off from teaching, I can honestly report that I am totally trashed-out and exhausted, but believe I will hit my stride pretty soon. Yesterday and today, I managed to kick out the planning for the following day, leaving myself some afternoon and evening hours for watercoloring and drawing.

Above is a sketch I just attempted of a tree trunk, using several grades of pencil along with a blending stump and that dried-out ballpoint pen for impressions in the paper. I’m trying to find a way to simulate the graininess of the bark and somehow make the tree stand apart from a background. I’m still experimenting, but just love the feelings that accompany drawing for pleasure, or in this case, decompression following frenetic daily schedules.

Thanks for reading.

2 Responses to “Drawing as a Means Of Decompression”

  1. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) Says:

    Awesome sketch! And glad you managed to fine that bit of solitude to paint and sketch my friend! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

