Early Morning Sketches and Thoughts

image

Rising at 5:30 instead of 5:00, I thought I would skip the drawing exercises and just go straight to breakfast. Apparently, I have already established some kind of a habit, because halfway through breakfast I absent-mindedly reached for the pencil and sketch pad.

Before falling asleep last night, I wondered about how to render the  grass patterns on my most recent island painting in progress. I figured this morning that if I concentrated on black and white, and just worked on value studies across the land masses, that I might have some kind of breakthrough. So, this is my first attempt to render grass, clusters of weeds, and wildflowers with just blacks, whites and grays.

Thank you for reading, and spending part of the morning with me.

4 Responses to “Early Morning Sketches and Thoughts”

  1. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) Says:

    So happy the habit kicked it! This is lovely…I love your sketches. They’re so well observed. Nice my friend! And good morning!

    Like

  2. Laura (Createarteveryday) Says:

    This is a wonderful sketch. Have a great day and just think….only two workdays left!

    Like

Leave a Reply

