Morning Brings Back the Heroic Ages

The morning wind forever blows, the poem of creation is uninterrupted; but few are the ears that hear it. 

Henry David Thoreau, Walden

A Satisfying Saturday Breakfast

A Satisfying Saturday Breakfast

Waking at daylight without an alarm on a Saturday morning was a pleasant surprise, and even the greater surprise of learning that it was 65 degrees outside. I made coffee and sat on my back deck for the first time since last spring (Texas summers are beyond torrid) and felt the serenity of the world engulfing me. Going back inside, I decided to make a more satisfying breakfast of coddled eggs with herbs of Provence along with some fried Canadian bacon.

Following breakfast, I learned the sad news that the husband of a dear friend I’ve known for thirty years had just passed away. About an hour later, I was sitting with the family and listening for the most part–we are all so helpless when we sit with friends who have suffered such an unspeakable loss. There is no way I can describe the love I feel for this family, and frankly the rest of the day was just going through the motions for me. There is a gigantic hole in our world right now.

This evening, before the light faded, I decided to begin a new watercolor of the Laguna Madre environment. I barely got the sky and horizon laid in before the light was gone, and for such landscape paintings, I really hate working under artificial light bulbs. So this will have to wait until morning. It measures 14 x 20″.

A New Beginning on the Laguna Madre

A New Beginning on the Laguna Madre

There is plenty of Saturday evening still stretched out before me, and I have a number of books I have been reading. Last night Don Quixote was providing plenty of mental stimulation. Perhaps I’ll push him a bit further this evening. I still cannot make up my mind whether to sit in the comforts of my study or go out on the town–Fort Worth’s Sundance Square has been so delightful, especially with falling temperatures. And there are always the Starbuck’s Cafes. . .

Thanks for reading.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Morning Brings Back the Heroic Ages”

  1. Xraypics Says:

    Sorry about the loss of your friend. That painting is the best tribute you can pay him.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

