Paying Yourself First

A Repeat of a Four-Year-Old Plein Air Sketch

A Repeat of a Four-Year-Old Plein Air Sketch

Because the soul is progressive, it never quite repeats itself, but in every act attempts the production of a new and fairer whole.

Ralph Waldo Emerson, “Art”

After losing the natural light last evening, I decided to go ahead and see if I could kick out a rough watercolor sketch similar to the one I did in L.A. four years ago. I’m pleased that a musician has chosen the old one to decorate the cover of her CD, and thought that perhaps I should return to the subject. While working on it, I thought of Ezra Pound and his fondness for Chinese calligraphy and the Chinese brushwork with all its aesthetic qualities. It made me return to the Six Canons offered up in Helen Gardner’s more recent editions of Art Through the Ages. I love this sense of reaching for the bare “essence” of a subject and simply suggesting it with gestures rather than defining it with pictorial precision. As I worked on this last night I felt liberated, not constrained the way I often feel when working on the exacting details of my watercolor pieces.

Sunday Brunch

Sunday Brunch

After a relatively sleepless night (too many good things to ponder), I rose rather late this Sunday morning. With fond memories of my Saturday breakfast of coddled eggs with herbs of Provence and Canadian bacon, I decided to do a repeat even though it was already late this morning.

Paying Myself First Today

Paying Myself First Today

I have homework (yes, teachers always, ALWAYS have homework) in both college and high school courses, so I have to devote the lion’s share of today to getting ready for those responsibilities tomorrow. But I have decided to pay myself first, just in case the night falls and I’m still working on school stuff. Don Quixote has been a most engaging read, and I have this itch to return to a thickening manuscript that I reopened last night concerning my experiences as Artist-in-Residence on the Texas Laguna Madre last June. I still have plenty of writing and editing to do, and I’m in the mood. And I really want to burrow further into Don Quixote. So, I am going to pay myself first, and then answer to the school responsibilities after I have satisfied my own itch.

Thank you for reading.

I paint in order to learn.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself I am never alone.

Tags: , , , ,

9 Responses to “Paying Yourself First”

  1. Paying Yourself First | WritersJacket Says:

    […] Source: Paying Yourself First […]

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Paying Yourself First | WritersJacket Says:

    […] Source: Paying Yourself First […]

    Liked by 1 person

  3. certainline Says:

    Gorgeous, delicate brushwork.

    Like

  4. Nancy Blue singer/songwriter Says:

    thanks for sharing your art with us…and for reminding me to blog, and be with others –that our hearts and minds are one as we share our art, words and music in this WordPress forum of ideas freely shared, sans advertising…

    Like

  5. Thoughts of a Watercolorist | WritersJacket Says:

    […] Thoughts of a Watercolorist […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

