Andy Warhol “Factory Time” has Arrived

A portion of the Laguna Madre collection

A portion of the Laguna Madre collection

The fall season is approaching, but Texas doesn’t yet know it. Yesterday afternoon we reached 95 degrees. Disgusting. At any rate, the arrival of fall means the revival of art festivals (Texas cannot host them during the triple-digit summer months). I now have to find another gear and kick into a higher speed to get my inventory together for this weekend’s three-day run.

I will be taking my show to Arlington Texas’s South Street Art Festival on 100 W. South St., Arlington 76010. This is a free event featuring live musical performances and original art. We will open at 4:00 on Friday, and my work will be in Booth #1. For the first time, I will be bringing out greeting cards and matted 8 x 10″ prints of my entire Laguna Madre collection–over thirty new pieces not brought into the public eye before. These pieces are subjects I sketched and painting throughout my week as Artist-in-Residence on an island in the Texas Laguna Madre, compliments of Texas A&M University Corpus Christi. Over the past three months, I have continued to make new paintings and drawings of these remarkable surroundings.

As soon as I get home from school later today, I’ll go to work in the Factory, and will begin posting images of my new work going on display and sale.

Thanks for reading.

I make art in order to explore.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “Andy Warhol “Factory Time” has Arrived”

  1. certainline Says:

    Wonderful pictures. I hope it goes well for you.

    Like

  2. Xraypics Says:

    Looking forward to hearing all about it in due course. Hope all goes well. You deserve to sell lots of pictures.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you, Tony, for always encouraging me. It’s been hard to keep the chin up lately, with unrelenting deadlines and lack of quality time to get up for this weekend festival. But as I work through the night, I always feel the calming effect of the encouraging words from friends such as you. I hope your retirement is giving you some quality time for rest as well as creativity.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Linda Myro Judd Says:

    This is the kind of adventure I like, where you are meeting a deadline and you pull all this energy out of your self and meet your goals. It’s wonderful. It’s also do-able because you’ve done it before and you know the ropes. So here’s to inspiration, your story does that for me. To be creative at the moment you need to be is a gift. Something to treasure.

    Thanks, big time for sharing.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Linda, your words are very timely, thank you. This evening has been absolutely exhausting to the bone, and I cannot thank friends such you enough for the positive, inspirational words. This is a great world in which we live, providing the necessary space to express what’s on our hearts.

      Like

Leave a Reply

