Feeling the Festive Mood

Laguna Madre Field Station

Laguna Madre Field Station

Beauty in art reminds one what is worthwhile.

Ezra Pound, “The Serious Artist”

The combination of school responsibilities, outside social appointments and organizing my inventory for the weekend’s art festival should be grinding me into the ground. But actually, I am feeling energized. I’m not sure if it is the cool pre-dawn temperatures hovering around the low 70s (unfortunately they’re forgotten by afternoon–yesterday climbed up into the mid-90’s!), or if it is the sight of my new greeting cards and prints coming into view. Whatever it is, I’m glad to feel so alive this week, anticipating the show.

Recalling Oliver Wendell Holmes "The Chambered Nautilus"

Recalling Oliver Wendell Holmes “The Chambered Nautilus”

I have already printed out scores of Laguna Madre images of my paintings and drawings created over the past three months, formatting them for 5 x 7″ greeting cards that I sell with envelopes and plastic sleeves for $5 each, or 5 for $25. I’m also creating 8 x 10″ images to place in 11 x 14″ white mats, backing and plastic sleeves for $25 each.

View across my Island on the Laguna Madre

View across my Island on the Laguna Madre

After months of painting and drawing, I am finally feeling excited about getting this work out into public view.

Watercolor Image with Journal Entry

Watercolor Image with Journal Entry

For the first time, I have also formatted my combination journals and watercolor sketches to fit 5 x 7″ cards. I’m not sure I should be writing this, but I was so upset when Office Depot merged with Office Max, discontinuing their card stock and envelopes product. I had used them faithfully for years. Now, I discover that Hallmark Cards creates a much superior product for about 30% less the cost. I now chafe that I did not explore options sooner, but am pleased now to see the quality of my greeting cards and envelopes far exceeding what I used to produce. For any of you creating greeting cards of your own, consider Hallmark.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to understand.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Feeling the Festive Mood”

  1. Linda Myro Judd Says:

    Thanks for the Hallmark tip. I curious, how long did it take to do the original “The Chambered Nautilus”?

    Like

  2. Linda Myro Judd Says:

    I also appreciate that your name clearly stated and you have a salutation. A lot of new bloggers make is a mystery.

    Like

  3. Xraypics Says:

    Good on you doing your own printing and mounting. I’m not sure if the hallmark stuff is available here, will have to look into it. What type of printer do you use? I always get upset about the price of ink which is said to be more expensive, drop for drop than the most expensive champagne!

    Like

Leave a Reply

