Late Night Sentiments

image

As I await sleep to overtake me, I’ve decided to post this plein air watercolor sketch I did last Saturday during my sojourn at the South Street Art Festival. Sitting behind my booth, I had a good perspective of the foliage, streetlamp and city banners across the street. When I finished it, I did some journaling across the page, then put it up for sale. A patron purchased it that very evening.

I am currently reading The Writer’s Eye: Field Notes and Watercolors by Paul Horgan. I love his illustrations and field notes, but don’t like that they are typed. My own handwriting leaves much to be desired, but I am determined now to clean it up and explore the possibilities of combining images and words in my artwork, as I’ve attempted recently.

My one-man-show at the Texas A&M University Corpus Christi library has been set for October 12-31, and I believe it includes four watercolors and drawings of coastal subjects that contain pictures along with my handwritten journal texts. This is a direction I’m interested in exploring further.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.
I journal when I feel alone.
I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

6 Responses to “Late Night Sentiments”

  1. Linda Myro Judd Says:

    I like that idea. Do more!

    Like

  2. Xraypics Says:

    What a lovely piece of artwork. I’m not surprised someone snapped it up immediately. The written sentiment is very appropriate and complements the painting perfectly. I do look forward to seeing more of your combined paint and journal work.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you for that encouragement, Tony. I do plan to get back to this journaling/sketching hybrid as soon as I get all this dang grading done that has been piling up the past few days. It never ends. 😦

      Like

  3. Skeeter Murley Says:

    Just wanted to tell you how much my Aunt & I enjoyed visiting with you, and seeing all your works. Thanks for taking the time to answer questions from a wanna-be watercolorist!

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Skeeter–meeting you and your aunt were the highlight of the weekend, thank you both! I hope you have interest in plein air painting, because temperatures are dropping and soon leaves will be turning. I’m ready for some companionship on the painting trail!

      Like

Leave a Reply

