Slowing Down

imageWe’re living in a very fragmented culture. We’re bombarded with images from morning till night unlike the world has ever seen. We’re making enormous demands on people’s ability to organize and process information. With drawing, you really slow it down. It’s almost a polar opposite of our normal way of viewing the world.

Juliette Aristides, Lessons in Classical Drawing: Essential Techniques from Inside the Atelier

This afternoon offered a respite from the crazy school schedule I’ve endured recently. Pushing some calendar issues around, I managed to open a space for drawing and gladly sat before a pile of sea shells and began drawing and shading carefully and deliberately, with no deadlines looming and no voices surrounding me. Just a sea of calm. I love the way drawing slows down the world that continually whirls about me on a daily basis.

7 Responses to “Slowing Down”

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) Says:

    And a beautiful result, too. Very true. I love this about drawing too.

    Like

  2. certainline Says:

    You get so much – and make so much – out of these simple things. A lovely drawing.

    Like

  3. Linda Myro Judd Says:

    Do you ever draw something from the shadows first? Does that make sense?

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Wow, I forgot all about a charcoal I did, probably a year ago. I’ll post that on a new blog entry, if I can find the image. I did try beginning from the shadows once, and it was a good experience, but then life happened, and I forgot to return to the practice! Thanks for the prompt.

      Like

Leave a Reply

