A Second Afternoon in the Studio

imageTwo consecutive afternoons in the studio are paying dividends. I did not go back to work on the first large watercolor, feeling it is nearly finished, or perhaps already finished. This one is starting to take on more character. I’m still not satisfifed that I have pushed the texturing of the ground cover quite far enough yet. I’m going to lay it aside for another day at least before I proceed.

Today was not what I would call a real school day–PSAT testing for four hours, followed by abbreviated class schedules. Seeing that I was taken out of the teaching loop, I managed to scratch out a couple of sketches throughout the seven-hour grind. I do find a sense of peace and consolation when I scratch different grades of pencil across the page and pour out my ideas. And since my main job throughout the day was administrative proctoring, I made my rounds, scratched a few lines, walked around the desks some more, scratched out a few more lines, and ultimately a tree was born.

Though unfinished, I like the direction these two 5 x 7″ sketches are going. Perhaps tomorrow after school I’ll have more time to scratch out some more limbs.

Thanks for reading.

I make art in order to think more clearly.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

