Happy Thanksgiving

image

Life is being wasted.  The human family is not having half the fun that is its due, not making the beautiful things it would make, and each one is not as good news to the other as he might be, just because we are educated off our natural track.  We need another form of education.

Robert Henri, The Art Spirit

Happy Thanksgiving to anyone out there reading this.  I don’t think I could have planned a better one for myself.  Waking in the darkness before dawn, enjoying the warmth of covers, and thinking good thoughts, I decided the first thing I wanted to do once I got up was go back to the third watercolor I started over the past three days, and see if I could finish it.  I did.  I took some chances in color that I’m not used to taking, and am glad I did.  I also tried out some new techniques in drybrush with the foreground–a combination of masquing, staining with a drybrush, and pencil rendering/scribbling–which was also enjoyable.

Returning to a book I’ve read once all the way through and am nearly finished with my second reading, I’m amazed at the insight and clarity with which Robert Henri wrote.  The man was truly a prophet, a seer, a visionary, and I’m grateful that he recorded his thoughts for posterity.  He has been a real gift to me personally.  I love the quote posted above.  And I’m glad, in retrospect, that I returned to my artistic roots.  I laid down the pencil and brush to pursue graduate studies in academic subjects, and followed a career in education.  But one day I woke up and decided to return to what gives me the most deep-seated pleasure in life–making art.  My job is still a good experience for me, but I live to pursue my passion when not on the job, and the activity never lets me down.  The holidays have been meaningful this year because I’ve had uninterrupted time to pursue painting and thinking, and it’s all been very, very good.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not really alone.

 

 

Tags: , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Happy Thanksgiving”

  1. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) Says:

    Gorgeous painting!! Happy Thanksgiving to you my friend! 😃

    Like

  2. Keith Sander Says:

    i am constantly uplifted by your new works David. Your chosen subject matter in each of your works brings new life to my memories each time I view them. You are the “Meister Maller” in all of your works. A true artist in so many mediums—-

    Like

  3. SiverBlack Says:

    Great stuff! Robert Henri is one of my heroes, also.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      I’m always glad to meet another who appreciates Henri. The man was quite a prophet and knew how to inspire his disciples. I am so grateful that he cared enough to leave his writings for posterity to publish–they certainly fuel my fires.

      Like

Leave a Reply

