Tree Sketching on the Go

image

I arrived early at the Bishop Arts District where I’ll meet friends for dinner. The window seat at Espumoso is inviting, and I decided to do some tree sketching while enjoying a cup of Cafe Americano.

I like the metaphor of fencing that Andrew Wyeth used to describe the act of drawing with well-sharpened pencils. He said that drawing winter trees was not for the faint of heart. I agree. With this drawing, I enjoyed thrusting quickly with the pencil points and withdrawing to survey the marks. I didn’t linger too long over the sketch, and am confident that it will look pretty good in a 5 x 7″ white mat.

Thanks for reading.

4 Responses to “Tree Sketching on the Go”

  1. Michael Richards (certainline) Says:

    Lovely mixture of lines. The different ‘weight’ of the branches is the thing that I find most challenging.

    Like

  2. ymucci Says:

    Not only do I enjoy your artwork, but the verse also sparks my interest

    Like

Leave a Reply

