New Year Resolution: a Clean, Well-Lighted Place

Motherwell room

The French mathematician Poincaré said, “Thought is only a flash between two long nights.” Artists work by these flashes of thought . . . 

Robert Motherwell, “Symbolism,” 24 February 1954

Every January, I take my New Year’s resolutions seriously, working on them over a period of days, and then checking up on them weekly and monthly till well into the new year. One of my resolutions this year was to create a work of art every day, even if only a 5 x 7″ drawing, suitable for matting and sleeving.  I am two works of art over my quota, having ten at the close of this eighth day. I feel a smug sense of satisfaction over that.

A second resolution concerned two bedrooms in my home that I cannot keep from turning into cluttered storerooms. The one pictured above I called my “Motherwell Room” last year when I used it for matting and processing my inventory for upcoming art shows. But then, I began unloading freight into the room, and until this evening, one could not even enter the room for the stacks of junk. Around 10:00 p.m., I decided to start on the process of getting the room back into working order. In the midst of the cleaning, I got my second wind, and before I knew it, the room reached the point as can be seen pictured above. At this I am very, VERY pleased! Tomorrow I shall sit in it with a smug smile of serenity, sip from my cup of coffee, look about at my new clearn surroundings, and do something creative in its midst, celebrating a new year and a new beginning. Poincaré could be right–perhaps something has flashed between two long nights.

Thanks for reading.

2 Responses to “New Year Resolution: a Clean, Well-Lighted Place”

  1. A Zigzag Line Says:

    Good for you. You took back the room and made it all warm and smuggly. Worthy of some serious gloating. Further inspiration for me to work on getting my own house in order.

    Like

Leave a Reply

