The Occasional Epiphany

image

An artist has to be a long-distance runner, and the thing I’m most proud of is my most recent work is as fresh as the first.

Robert Motherwell

Opening this new year with a burst of artwork has been most satisfying. I’m happy that I’ve completed thirteen new works in the past twelve days. Some of it has been a thrill to create.  Some of it.  I’ve known most of my life that inspiration isn’t a constant. I apprecicate the comment from the poet Wallace Stevens: “It is not every day that the world arranges itself into a poem.” And I like even more the answer from Sigmund Freud: “When inspiration does not come to me, I go halfway to meet it.”

Harold Bloom has urged, “No man, no woman, can live in a continuous secular epiphany.” I understand that. I suppose that is why I regard myself as a grinder when it comes to making art and teaching classes daily. Sometimes I just have to lean into it, because it is my job, or because it won’t make itself.  But I’m happy when something gets accomplished.

The watercolor posted above is my first attempt ever to paint a winter tree and spare no detail in rendering the spidery network of limbs. I still find this very challenging, and have learned a great deal from this one 9 x 12″ attempt, but there is still so much left to solve. I’m already looking forward to the next one.

Thanks for reading.

I make art in order to learn.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

 

Tags:

5 Responses to “The Occasional Epiphany”

  1. Michael Richards (certainline) Says:

    A fascinating post and a beautiful painting. The detail is captured without any sense of fussiness and you’ve really nailed the depth within the branches. I love it!

    Like

  2. Xraypics Says:

    That painting/drawing is very good indeed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

