Another beginning to a Laguna Madre painting

image

A series can be thought of as one problem, constantly reworked and unfinishable, or as a set of different and finished solutions to the same problem, the two sides of [Motherwell’s] philosophical pursuit of variousness.

Bernard Jacobson, Robert Motherwell: The Making of an American Giant

My drawing and painting have been curtailed for the past twenty-four hours, mostly because Amazon delivered to me the book I just quoted above. For hours I have been sitting and soaking the pages of this text, enriched beyond description. I like the way different scholars approach the issue of Motherwell’s series paintings, most notably his Elegies and his Open works–each series comprising more than two hundred paintings. Motherwell once remarked that he continually tried to depict the same subject because he never felt he got it right, and mused that that could have been the reason for Cézanne’s obsession with Mont Sainte-Victoire.

I have a different reason for the Laguna Madre works–my one-man-show opens in about a month and a half, and I still would like to try a few more angles of the subject. The one I started today is of the field station where I spent my nights.

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “Another beginning to a Laguna Madre painting”

  1. coreyaber Says:

    Great quote selection! Also, I’ve enjoyed following your tree drawings. Really fascinating work.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you so much, Corey. I’m getting a great deal of satisfaction from these tree studies, and believe they will improve my overall work as I stay with it. I just finished a fabulous book on Motherwell, and the author sings the praises of Lewis Hyde’s The Gift. I remember your endorsement, and plan to read it next.

      Like

      • coreyaber Says:

        Excellent. Enjoy The Gift. It’s a thought provoking book. I need to look into the Motherwell books you’ve cited. I will add them to my long list.

        Like

  2. sedge808 Says:

    really nice

    Like

Leave a Reply

